cat heaven

January 19, 2009

Is this thing on?

So, uh, I’m sorry it’s been so long since I wrote in here.  That’s not an apology directed at anybody in particular, cause I know nobody reads this, but I feel like I’ve let the team down. Anyway on with the show.

New year’s resolutions. Bizarrely, I more or less accomplished all the things I set out to accomplish in 2008. I feel like that must be a first for humankind. So this year I’ve pared it back a little bit, and focussed on more practical, rather than abstract, goals. Like getting more proficient at Japanese, f’rinstance. And saving money. 2008 was a year of excess. And to prove it…

OK now, I’m more or less over these kinds of surveys. But I feel that given my time constraints it would be more efficient and less painful for you, the reader, to see this in easy-to-digest point form. So with no adieus to further, here’s 2008 in review.


1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

So much stuff! Taught myself a language (ahem), traveled alone, lived alone (including paying my own bills, believe it), worked full-time, got fired from a job.

2. Did you keep your New Years’ resolutions and will you make more for next year?
As you are all well aware by now, yeah, I kept ’em. As for this year…well, I won’t go into any more detail than I already have, cause that would be terribly narcissistic of me, plus you’ll probably jinx it.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Well, a couple of my fellow JETs did! I mean, their wives did. But otherwise, no, I guess not.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Yeah. My grandma passed away in October. She was such a nice person and I owe a large part of who I am to her. I miss her a lot.

5. What countries did you visit?
China, Japan, Cambodia, Vietnam, in that order! Snap!

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
Japanese ability, hair that does what it’s told.

7. What date from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
I suppose leaving for Japan and subsequently arriving in Japan, although I can’t remember the exact dates. Also the morning my grandma passed away and trying to put on a brave face at school that week.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Being independant, my giant Australia presentation, the Tokyo Run for a Cure, investing a lot of time into recording my song, following my dream and moving to Japan.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Again, not being as good at Japanese as I would like to be by now, not being able to hold down a relationship over here, not having enough time for writing or playing guitar. I have more or less learned to deal with routine minor embarassment.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Yes, got layed up in hospital in Siem Reap after repeated bouts of partying way too hard, but otherwise no. I guess I was healthier this year than I have been in ages, at least since moving to Japan. Ironically, I have also excercised less since moving to Japan.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A ticket to China, my laptop, my Nintendo DS, heaps of new clothes, party supplements in Saigon.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
My fellow JETs (particularly in Kennan) for being so rad and chilled out all the time. Also my family, for being so supportive of me when I left and my brother for finally getting a job. Obama, muhfuckas.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Holy shit. To my former employer (don’t wanna name names in case of some future libel case), you are such a son of a bitch, and it makes me sick to my stomach that people as selfish and arrogrant (and essentially gutless and pathetic) as you are somewhat successful in this world. Oh, and as usual, right-wing Australia and America.

14. Where did most of your money go?
God, I shudder to think. Probably the accrued expense of traveling all around Asia and Japan. And drinking.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
This is a somewhat dumb question.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
Anything by Muscles and Cut Copy.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: Happier or sadder? Thinner or fatter? Richer or poorer?
Man, I don’t even know. I’m just as happy but in a different way, and I’m the same size and shape but not as fit. I’m definitely richer. Consequently I’m also a lot more shallow.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Reading, writing, exercising, slutting about.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Not..approaching…girls…in Japan?

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Oops, again, too late. I spent Christmas spelunking around temples in Cambodia and then hitting a wild Christmas party with a bunch of Cambodian tuk-tuk drivers, their families and their ocassionally beautiful girlfriends.

21. Did you fall in love in 2006?
I fall in love numerous times whenever I cross the road outside Shibuya station.

23. How many one-night stands?
Define ‘stands.’

24. What was your favourite TV program?
Monster (watch it), Death Note (watch it), The Office (went seriously downhill in season five, though), The Colbert Report (still the most honest news you can get).

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Who knows? Actually no, I’ve got a pretty good filter going.

26. What was the best book you read?
I’ll get to this later.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Likewise, I’ll get to this later.

28. What did you want and get?
I assume this doesn’t apply to immaterial things. So with that in mind: a sweet placement in Japan. My highschool rules. No it’s not just cause of the short skirts.

29. What did you want and not get?
An invitation to play rhythm guitar for Front Counter.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
What’s with all the questions? I’ll get to this later.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Turned 22, made a right jerk of myself by offending people I’d never met as well as others that I considered good friends. It was a fucking great night.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Fluency in Japanese. That’s about it. Everything else worked out more or less according to plan. Take that, conspiratorial stars!

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Better than yours! At least, better than all the stupid haircuts I deal with on a daily basis: both in Melbourne’s metrosexual indie underbelly and in transgender Japanese high school.

34. What kept you sane?
Time to myself, heaps of great music, benders of inconceivable magnitude.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Hrm. I’m gonna give the honorary title to the late Heath Ledger.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Obama, baby.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
All my Japanese students and co-workers.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
I learned that you only learn life lessons when things don’t go your way. Which makes it hard to learn and grow as a person when you get more or less what you want. Ha! But, I suppose in many ways I became closer to my family this year, which is a good thing. I miss them and I love them and I can’t wait to see them!

That’ll do, pig. That’ll do.

One Response to “cat heaven”

  1. ez said

    metrosexual indie, what a contradiction!
    but we’ve been through this

    i’m happy you’re happy darren ;]

Leave a Reply

